Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry Study Guide

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry Study Guide

Original title:
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry
Published October 1st 1991 by Puffin Books (first published October 1976)
Mississippi(United States)
ISBN 014034893X (ISBN13: 9780140348934)

Mildred Taylor wrote “Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry” in 1976 as a continuation of her previous novel written a year before that. The novel is set during the Great Depression times and talks about racial issues in the society.

The book is intense. The events are taking place in the geographical heart of the racist movement, the language used by characters is harsh, the actions can’t be explained or forgiven. The plot opens with an African American family. Logans have a small piece of land that keeps the entire family alive. Their children are constantly bullied at school because of the color of their skin.

At the same time, there’s a dangerous group developing in town. The Wallace gang murders people on racial grounds and the Logans decide to stand up to them. They proclaim a boycott on the store Wallace family owns. Taking into account the depression times – it’s not that easy to find alternative places to buy goods from.

The Logan family has to go through various kinds of hardships, they lose their job, get attached and physically threatened, have to collect their dignity after each interaction with the society. Every day they have to defend their farm, lives, and values. They even sacrifice the most important thing they have – their cotton field- in order to stop the deadly lynching in the community.

Those of us who think that racism and ethical inequality is a thing of the past must read and reread this book over and over again. It reminds us that injustice isn’t in the regulation – it is in the minds of people. And it’s easy to give into the poor ideas. That’s why our society today should work hard on developing and securing the good values that will build up and make our communities stronger.

New Essays

Roll of thunder theme analysis

THEMES - THEME ANALYSIS Friendship/Family Cassie develops a more adult understanding of what friendship is as well as what it isn’t. Little Jeremy Simms is, at least for the present, a real friend, perhaps because he is something of an outsider among his own people and family. Nevertheless, he...

Roll of Thunder, Hear my cry

? ROLL OF THUNDER HEAR MY CRY BY STEPHANY BERNADEAU Characteristic traits of Stacey. This book by Mildred D. Taylor talks about a black family whose love for their land and one other support and protects them during the segregation. This family is called the Logan’s family. They have to suffer...

Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry

? Language Arts In this amazing book titled Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry written by Mildred Taylor is a story is about an African American family living in the south during the 1930s. Stacey Logan is the oldest sibling in the Logan family. Stacey is a very kind hearted person and has great...

The Stages of Emotional Realization

?A poem which appears to be about an ordinary everyday experience but which actually makes a deeper comment about life is “Mrs Tilscher’s Class” by Carol Ann Duffy. This poem shows the stages of emotional realisation as a child gradually enters adolescence. The focus of my essay will be to explain...

See all essays